subreddit:

/r/videos

24.3k

Comedian David Mitchell: Gives His Opinion on Flat Earth

R1: No Politics(youtu.be)

YouTube video info:

Comedian David Mitchell: Gives His Opinion on Flat Earth https://youtube.com/watch?v=a1rCXgKcQTo

Nathan Brazil https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDQOUIBrBzY8nq_96B3MydA

all 2202 comments

serdar94

3.5k points

2 days ago

serdar94

3.5k points

2 days ago

You fucking idiot, Jeremy! You total fucking idiot! The earth is not flat, you fucking moron! You cretin! You are a fuckhead, thats what you are. A fucking shithead.

drewonfilm

1.6k points

2 days ago

drewonfilm

1.6k points

2 days ago

It was a joke, Mark. A fun Christmas, flat earth joke. That wasn’t very Christmassy, Mark.

RusticRootbeer

396 points

2 days ago

Oh, well that looks like a lovely round earth Jeremy.

crobnuck

233 points

2 days ago

crobnuck

233 points

2 days ago

Its organic.

TheRockLobsta1

171 points

2 days ago

I spent hours on the internet researching it. It's going to be delicious

watugoat

71 points

1 day ago

watugoat

71 points

1 day ago

Fuck me I read that in their voices, I miss them

TheGillos

23 points

1 day ago

TheGillos

23 points

1 day ago

When I'm walking somewhere I sometimes make up conversations between them in my head.

"Jeremy what does the chore list say for today?"

"Chore list?"

"Yes Jeremy, the chore list you and I wrote, debated and outlined in great detail."

"Oh Mark I can't remember every silly little list you make, is it the green one?"

"The green one? ... no, it's the blue one, on the door to the fridge, we wrote it yesterday? Is your drug addled brain so far gone you can't remember yesterday?"

"Oh yes Mark, I'm senile. I think I might be getting the early onset Al Simon's Disease"

"I'm sorry, what was that?"

"Al Simon's Disease, you know, the one named after Al Simon, I think he was a baseball player in America"

...

AND SO FORTH, for sometimes hours.

western_style_hj

8 points

1 day ago

I’d pay money for more of this dialogue

mostly_drunk_mostly

12 points

1 day ago

Potatoes well not salt obviously but maybe earth?

Ancient_Solid_4992

50 points

2 days ago

Cauliflower is not fucking traditional !

k3rn3

31 points

2 days ago

k3rn3

31 points

2 days ago

Thank you. This has all been horrible.

Thelonewand3rer

36 points

2 days ago

And then I go and spoil it all by say something stupid like the earths flat.

injoegreen

132 points

2 days ago

injoegreen

132 points

2 days ago

Now I gotta go bingewatch peep show for the 5th time.

AWilsonFTM

100 points

2 days ago

AWilsonFTM

100 points

2 days ago

Chance would be a fine thing

limegreenorangedrop

27 points

2 days ago

A fine thing indeed....

lazilyloaded

16 points

2 days ago

I literally just finished a watch, but this makes me want to start again.

disillusioned

10 points

2 days ago

The dog episode tho

NyxEmberheart

9 points

2 days ago

They ate mummy 😭

canadiancarlin

426 points

2 days ago

Santos_L_Halper

119 points

2 days ago

For people who haven't seen Peep Show, Mark and Jez are often at each other's throats but this is easily the most angry Mark has ever been with Jez. Up until this point at least.

DonKeedick12

40 points

1 day ago

Mark was angrier at Jeremy for not getting a turkey than he was at Jeremy for trying to propose to Dobby

CFDDCFC3

17 points

1 day ago

CFDDCFC3

17 points

1 day ago

Atleast it was a turkey and not his dates dog

l337hackzor

16 points

1 day ago

Poor mummy, wrong place at the wrong time.

CFDDCFC3

46 points

1 day ago

CFDDCFC3

46 points

1 day ago

And for anyone else who hasn't watched it, just watch it. One of my most repeat-watched series, the kind of comedy where it's still funny even when you know what's coming

coumfy

9 points

1 day ago

coumfy

9 points

1 day ago

Their relationship is just so real and fun. Kind of like a friend you wish you had but are actually quite glad you don't.

xenmate

93 points

2 days ago

xenmate

93 points

2 days ago

It was a joke Mark. A Christmas joke.

Robbotlove

3.8k points

2 days ago*

Robbotlove

3.8k points

2 days ago*

i'll listen to any David Mitchell rant. his delivery is so fucking good.

edit: thank you to everyone for the Very David Mitchell Curated Youtube Playlist. some of these i hadnt seen before.

TheLeggacy

535 points

2 days ago

TheLeggacy

535 points

2 days ago

He’s amazing on “would I lie to you?” There’s times when he almost seems to get angry with Lee. One of the best British comedians.

Etheo

926 points

2 days ago*

Etheo

926 points

2 days ago*

His mental breakdown over challenging Bob Mortimer's egg bath was the best: https://youtu.be/Yfawvs5PouA

"What should I base it on, Bob?" That genuine puppy eyed begging always gets me. If you've seen David Mitchell you've never seen him debase himself like this lol.

concatenated_string

469 points

2 days ago

Holy fuck. How could Bob Mortimer simultaneously convince me it was a lie and the truth both at once.

Etheo

435 points

2 days ago

Etheo

435 points

2 days ago

Bob is a tour de force with his storytelling. He's been around long enough with some wild tales, and he'd have you believe anything he sells you.

His WILTY videos are always a treat.

BorinUltimatum

233 points

2 days ago

Mickey the Drink, Billy the Pigeon, Sniper's Dream. Are these heist names or people from Bob's youth?

Khan356

157 points

2 days ago*

Khan356

157 points

2 days ago*

I do beg your pardon, but we are in your garden. One of the most ridiculous tales i've ever heard

Bob Mortimer Thief and Shrubbery

Migraine-

54 points

1 day ago

Migraine-

54 points

1 day ago

"Like fingerprints on an abandoned handrail" is one of the greatest lines in anything ever.

Medium_Rare_Jerk

18 points

1 day ago*

A snipers dream they used to call him lmao

diablo75

107 points

2 days ago

diablo75

107 points

2 days ago

Don't forget Stabber and Bagger.

BorinUltimatum

146 points

2 days ago

Harry Harryman and Steve Bytheway are equally important.

milesunderground

77 points

2 days ago

And his father, Sgt. Bytheway.

thezedferret

44 points

2 days ago

FUJI 9!

RyantheAustralian

21 points

1 day ago

Sniper's Dream.

Wasn't that Harry Cheeseman (first name might be incorrect). They called him Cheesey because his mom would give him a cheese slice to put on his spots. And not because of his name.

Also, if you remember...Fuji 9!

DrippyCheeseDog

11 points

2 days ago

Waffles and Caramel.

SimpleDan11

94 points

2 days ago

He is WILTY legend at this point. From Neale Overall, Jerry Dungerees son, to Fuji-9. He has mastered towing the line between truth and stranger than fiction.

Clay_Pigeon

52 points

2 days ago

I remember so many details about his stories, but I can't for the life of me remember which were lies! The journey of his explanations are so good that it doesn't even matter.

SonWutRUdoin

29 points

2 days ago

More often that not, he tells the truth.

YDAQ

27 points

2 days ago

YDAQ

27 points

2 days ago

The thing with Bob Mortimer, and what I find so amusing, is that he doesn't even sound like he believes any of his stories.

Ashton42

37 points

2 days ago

Ashton42

37 points

2 days ago

and when you've seen/heard enough.....you can believe any nonsense he throws out, cuz his truths are just as messed up as any of his lies. Did his own dental work!?!?! :D :D :D

chrt

50 points

2 days ago

chrt

50 points

2 days ago

I love the the story about cutting hair in the 70s at a soccer tournament or whatever it was. All of it is told like a Lee Mack absurd lie, like the guy throwing a coin into a slot machine from across the room and winning the jackpot, to cutting 75 people's hair daily all paid in egg sandwiches...but it's still true and they even showed a picture of him cutting the guys hair...that man's life is insane and I could watch all his WILTY clips on repeat forever.

DaLateDentArthurDent

71 points

2 days ago

Bob is the most incredible contestant on the show, I could just rewatch him all day

zdelusion

61 points

2 days ago

zdelusion

61 points

2 days ago

Bob Mortimer on doing his own dentistry is possibly my favorite bit from the whole show.

DonKeedick12

16 points

1 day ago

I told my dentist about this story and he couldn’t stop laughing

tgwutzzers

14 points

1 day ago

tgwutzzers

14 points

1 day ago

did he know about fuji9?

DonKeedick12

9 points

1 day ago

He did

tgwutzzers

10 points

1 day ago

tgwutzzers

10 points

1 day ago

definitely a dentist then

BorinUltimatum

23 points

2 days ago

Bob talking about the spider in the flute gave me my favorite non-rant David Mitchell moment, the tentative testicle.

Needs_No_Convincing

98 points

2 days ago

Here's a compilation of some Bob Mortimer lies/truths on that show. He's so fucking good.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1vE8ExuuNZQ&t=2663s

Turakamu

78 points

2 days ago

Turakamu

78 points

2 days ago

For anyone discovering Mortimer for the first time, here is some Taskmaster insanity

Tomarse

18 points

2 days ago

Tomarse

18 points

2 days ago

You can also start at the beginning with shooting stars.

UltraMegaMegaMan

16 points

2 days ago

Not less than an hour ago I JUST watched Bob Mortimer rip an apple in half with his bare hands on an episode of Taskmaster. Now here he is talking about his technique and trying to get other comedians to believe him. Wild.

Lusakas

83 points

2 days ago

Lusakas

83 points

2 days ago

If you want another egg-related story from Bob, there's a new one from an episode just a few weeks back. Especially for motorsports fans, it's just as hilarious.

Psycho_Pants

24 points

2 days ago

And David Mitchell brings up the previous egg story as why he has no idea whether it's truth or lie, lol

TheLeggacy

17 points

2 days ago

Bob is fucking genius! Every appearance he’s had on that show has been hilarious

whooo_me

55 points

2 days ago

whooo_me

55 points

2 days ago

I've watched this soooo many times, and love it.

The best bit is - every time Chris Rea's name gets mentioned, it seems to snap everyone out of Bob Mortimer's reality distortion field, and they suddenly realise "oh yeah, this is total BS!". But he starts talking and they fall for it again...

But yeah, Mitchell's angry rants are the best rants.

Whifflebats

13 points

2 days ago

He is actually mates with Chris Rea; he had him on his fishing show (with Paul Whitehouse) over Xmas.

ruethegloom

10 points

2 days ago

Bob on this show might be the funniest thing I've ever seen

bytor_2112

1.1k points

2 days ago*

bytor_2112

1.1k points

2 days ago*

The most observant one, IMO, was on a show where he ranted about how modern systems of taxation become essentially 'a tax on conscience' when people are allowed to get away with not paying their share. Here it is if you haven't seen it.

But this one never fails to make me laugh

CactusBoyScout

449 points

2 days ago

I think about his rant on getting your hair cut every time I go to the barber.

"And then sometimes they wash your hair?! Is this meant to be a valuable addition to the service or a commentary on the state of my hygiene?? If it's the former... I'd like to politely decline."

Barber: And how would you like it cut? David Mitchell: I mean, like it is... but less so?

So good.

TheNoxx

62 points

2 days ago

TheNoxx

62 points

2 days ago

My personal favorite is his bread and milk rant.

But then, any moment involving both David Mitchell and Stephen Fry on QI is some of the purest gold in the world.

MarkoSeke

331 points

2 days ago

MarkoSeke

331 points

2 days ago

"One of the codes I live my life by is that my appearance should be in no way noteworthy, but then again not so unnoteworthy as to be in itself noteworthy."

dewyocelot

33 points

2 days ago

Awesome bit, and so perfectly rides the line of what could’ve been truth or lie.

yoortyyo

16 points

1 day ago

yoortyyo

16 points

1 day ago

“Your entire image is crafted to leave no lasting memory with anyone you encounter” - K .Men in Black

wisdom_failed

47 points

2 days ago

Yeah, I feel this, having had a number of haircuts and when asked, I say "shorter" they look at me like I've just posed the riddle of the sphinx. It's definitely the difference of a barber and a stylist.

OdBx

153 points

2 days ago

OdBx

153 points

2 days ago

This video contains content from Channel 4, who has blocked it in your country on copyright grounds.

Classic.

chudthirtyseven

174 points

2 days ago

a tax on conscience https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xc8epam4NyY

here you go

TheBlank89

73 points

2 days ago

Goddamn it I love him.

Jimmy Carr starts sweating

AngusVanhookHinson

114 points

2 days ago*

I love that at least Jimmy Carr faced the music to some degree. Here he is on the first episode of 8 out of 10 cats, after the news broke

Kiesa5

103 points

2 days ago

Kiesa5

103 points

2 days ago

They make a tax avoidance joke in his expense like every fifth episode

AngusVanhookHinson

81 points

2 days ago

I know. And frankly, it's never any less funny.

keaneonyou

7 points

1 day ago

My heart flutters when Rachel burns him everytime. And when Susie gets in on the action I love that as well cause Jimmy is so mean to her haha

Inc0rgnit0

9 points

1 day ago

It's great that he always cops to it as well, never acts like he's being picked on unfairly.

Wind_Yer_Neck_In

117 points

2 days ago

Had my first actual experience with this a few weeks ago, I was offered a contracting job and the recruiter/agent called me to say he was going to set me up with a firm that would register me a company in Ireland and give me a home address there for tax purposes, so I could pay remittance tax at about 7% instead of normal UK taxes at about 45%.

I told him I had no interest in pretending I was resident in another country to avoid tax and that I wouldn't want to be put in a position where HMRC would look at me and possibly levy some sort of fine. He said 'don't worry they barely bother going after people these days', as if the fact that I'd be unlikely to be caught should outweigh the fact that the thing I would be doing would almost certainly result in huge fines if I was ever investigated. Possibly from Irish Revenue at the same time as HMRC.

I realise now that he was only doing it so that the daily contracting rate would be much more appealing, but it's not worth breaking the law. Nevermind the fact that I did my university finals on avoidance/evasion and the cost to the treasury and I'd never be able to live with myself if I was such a hypocrite.

But I understand that for a lot of people, the thought of almost doubling their take home income is too tempting to pass up, which is why we need to legislate hard to crack down on legal avoidance schemes. If you rely on conscience you'll be disappointed. The number of people refusing to wear masks in a pandemic bears this out.

The fact that the very rich pay far less proportionately than normal wage earners should be treated as a national disgrace.

mrmax1984

77 points

2 days ago

mrmax1984

77 points

2 days ago

"I like honey on my porridge, you murderer! You should be arrested, locked up. You know where? A hive."

Noble_Flatulence

33 points

2 days ago

This recent one about ghosts is spot-on.
https://youtu.be/hRpTyxYGivQ?t=1279

CuzYourMovesAreWeak

319 points

2 days ago

Robbotlove

100 points

2 days ago

Robbotlove

100 points

2 days ago

i wish he'd do more soap boxes. its been years.

kavono

74 points

2 days ago

kavono

74 points

2 days ago

That was fantastic. Somehow, the delivery of "So, that's the one thing I really wa-- the Queen really wants you to stop saying" was what broke me.

showers_with_grandpa

25 points

2 days ago

As a cook, I've always enjoyed this one

prestatiedruk

2.2k points

2 days ago

Took me a sec to realise that’s the Clintons on the sofa.

BreckSkunk

1.4k points

2 days ago

BreckSkunk

1.4k points

2 days ago

Oh that IS Hillary Clinton.

VScWayne

959 points

2 days ago

VScWayne

959 points

2 days ago

My exact reaction lmao. I was like "that lady looks so much like Clinton that it's honestly distracting"

rabbitparrot

657 points

2 days ago

Graham Norton could have any 4 people in existence on his couch and it wouldn't surprise me. It's like a crossroads of reality where people from extremely disparate walks of life show up, seemingly by accident, to have pleasant and sometimes drunk conversations.

HailSatanHaggisBalls

157 points

2 days ago

Having Miriam Margoles shock Chandler from Friends into appalled silence by talking about how Lawrence Oliver made her horny was peak Norton.

JosVerstapppen

87 points

1 day ago

Here's the video

https://youtu.be/F186jg6MsGQ

It's brilliant

RimuZ

15 points

1 day ago

RimuZ

15 points

1 day ago

Oh god I can't stop going back to his reaction.

skeyer

19 points

1 day ago

skeyer

19 points

1 day ago

you want to see reactions? watch the robbie williams/castle story. anna kendricks reactions are insane.

prjktphoto

8 points

1 day ago

Just saw that one… I don’t think she could believe what she was hearing.

twattage

16 points

1 day ago

twattage

16 points

1 day ago

There was another episode where she told a story about seeing an American soldier on the street and asking if he wanted to go back to her dorm to get sucked off LOL.

I'll suck you off

CptnLarsMcGillicutty

74 points

2 days ago

What is the weirdest combination of living people he could have on the show?

SabreToothSandHopper

326 points

2 days ago

The Dalai Lama

Kim Jong-un

Ghislaine Maxwell

the OP of this thread

Babu_the_Ocelot

116 points

2 days ago

That's a pretty fuckin strong attempt

Didntstartthefire

51 points

2 days ago

Throw Greg Davies in too for good measure.

SabreToothSandHopper

58 points

2 days ago

You don't invite him, you just host a talk show in the uk and he'll appear 5 minutes before filming

huntergreeny

47 points

2 days ago

Kim Jong Un, Ozzy Osborne, Greta Thunberg, Queen Elizabeth II

SabreToothSandHopper

9 points

2 days ago

ah the queen would be a good one, she's only done like 1 interview in her life

bleep-bloop-im-a-bot

128 points

2 days ago

And took me even longer to identify jamie oliver

kimjasony

46 points

2 days ago

kimjasony

46 points

2 days ago

Select all squares with jamie oliver. Bet you can't.

sinkwiththeship

51 points

2 days ago

Who is the guy between Chelsea and David?

TG-Sucks

162 points

2 days ago

TG-Sucks

162 points

2 days ago

Jamie Oliver, the TV chef.

VScWayne

75 points

2 days ago

VScWayne

75 points

2 days ago

Naturally

LurkerPatrol

50 points

2 days ago

What a crazy eclectic couch

makesyoudownvote

46 points

2 days ago

Just wait until they bring out RuPaul, Nicolás Maduro and Kermit the Frog. Things get really crazy.

ThaiJohnnyDepp

12 points

2 days ago

That's Graham for you.

Tooj_Mudiqkh

12 points

2 days ago

Haiyaaaaa...

koshercowboy

641 points

2 days ago

David Mitchell is a national fucking treasure and I wish I could just be his friend.

PM_GPOY

135 points

2 days ago

PM_GPOY

135 points

2 days ago

Up until he tells you who you are.

thatonedude420

120 points

2 days ago

“Yeah, right. You’re a kosher “Cowboy”. So tell me, what’s that supposed to mean exactly? Do you go around riding a horse all day eating food only approved by the Judaic religious system? Is that your life? Is that your ultimate goal?”

matrixislife

1.4k points

2 days ago

matrixislife

1.4k points

2 days ago

Liked his end comment,

If you can't have a society where certain assertions are officially dignified as truth, and other assertions merely as opinion or indeed in some cases definitely a lie, then our civilisation can no longer progress.

DemIce

547 points

2 days ago

DemIce

547 points

2 days ago

Reminds me of a line from one of Dara Ó Briain's shows. In it he was riffing on things like psychics and homeopathy, and notes proponents will say "well, science doesn't know everything". To which he retorts: "Science knows it doesn't know everything; otherwise, it'd stop."

EarlOfBronze

214 points

1 day ago

EarlOfBronze

214 points

1 day ago

I like his medicine bit “herbal medicine has been around for thousands of years, we test it and the stuff that works became... medicine”

OnlyMakingNoise

106 points

1 day ago

You know what they call alternative medicine that works? They call it MEDICINE!

duaneap

15 points

1 day ago

duaneap

15 points

1 day ago

“Well, these people are clearly morons! I’m a dentist, I don’t pull my own teeth!”

DortDrueben

96 points

2 days ago

My flat-earther story...

Moved to a neighborhood and checked out the local bar. It had great deals and even better wifi so I made it a regular hangout on a slow day off. Making conversation with the bartender he said, "Well, I'M not a flat-earther but they make some good points." Basically that we're all going off of what someone else has told us. That we need to think for ourselves.

To which I asked if he knew how the ancient greeks were able to sort out that not only the shape of the planet, but calculate its size? I then explained to him the clip that's often shared around these parts of Carl Sagan telling the story. That if you were to take two staffs of equal length and be on a great distance on the longitude at the same time they will have different size shadows. Which can only happen if the earth is round.

The bartender stared for a moment. I could see the gears turning in his head. Maybe this scientific method would break through to him. Maybe. Just maybe... "Then how come the water doesn't fall?"

"What?"

He pulled out his phone and loaded a picture of the globe in the black void of space. Pointing to the blue... "The water. How come it doesn't fall off? Fall down?"

Folks... These people vote.

dagit

26 points

1 day ago

dagit

26 points

1 day ago

I actually feel kind of bad for flat earthers. From my attempts to understand where their beliefs deviate from science, I can tell that they definitely don't accept Newtonian physics. That means they can't appreciate so many things about the universe and our world. And that makes me sad.

Your story is exactly an example of what I'm talking about. They can't appreciate gravity. Something most of us take for granted in our daily lives but also a force that bring us many strange and wonderful things that are quite out of our ordinary.

The thing that makes me stop feeling sad for them and instead makes me angry is the antisemitism. For some reason, most major conspiracy theories, and definitely flat earth, always seem to come back to a fucked up belief that somehow Jews are pulling the strings and manipulating everyone.

shmehdit

13 points

2 days ago

shmehdit

13 points

2 days ago

But it's got what plants crave

CrabbyBlueberry

12 points

1 day ago

My high school science teacher was a flat-earther. He even had a "Flat Earth Society" mural over his door. On the very first day of class, he told us the earth was flat. He had traveled all over the world, and everywhere he went, his plum line pointed down (which he demonstrated). We students, of course, balked at this. He pushed us to prove to him that earth was round, and we came up with proofs like space photos, and ships disappearing over the horizon. He then told us about Eratosthenes, and soon our homework problems had us imagining ourselves as astronauts measuring far off planetoids with sticks and shadows. It was a great lesson in scientific skepticism.

This was in the mid 90s, long before Facebook and YouTube had turned the Flat Earth Society from a parody to a cult of stupidity. I sometimes wonder if Mr. L and his mural are still at my old high school, but I have my doubts.

madmaxturbator

178 points

2 days ago

David Mitchell is amazing because he’s a really intelligent, well spoken, very academic sort of chap who also happens to be one of the funniest people in the world.

It’s mad! He’s absolutely right here, he’s said it so eloquently, and i have no doubt if you’re to push him he’d have ample sources to back up his perspective - it’s obvious on even based on his quiz show and interview performances that he spends time reading and learning.

He’s one of my all time favorite comedians. And from a distance, one of my favorite people. As in, I don’t know him personally but he seems so lovely.

I have no interest in getting to know him though, because 1) I feel like he’d rather not take on a random lackey as friend, I have nothing to offer 2) the worst thing in the world would be for me to have a chat with David Mitchell and at the end I can see that he’s just squirming to get away. No thanks. I shall watch YouTube videos and discuss my hypothetical friendship with David Mitchell (and Robert Webb) at length with my wife, and that’s good for me.

Fun fact: We all went to Cambridge together, my wife has heard the story.

StrangelyBrown

31 points

2 days ago

I think his (excellent) autobiography says what you said about him about Michael Palin. And you're probably right.

If we could elect David Mitchell president of the world it would probably be for the better. Although he would then probably turn off the internet, or at least social media, so I'm sure his reign wouldn't be long.

TedBRandom

12 points

2 days ago

I was incredibly fortunate and got to go on a cruise a few years back I'd heard from someone else on the ship that he was also there but I hadn't seen him but the following day ended up in an elevator with him and his wife. As excited as I was to suddenly be so close to him and even having had time to think of what to say if I did bump in to him I just decided that he probably wanted to enjoy his holiday and so I left him alone.

Kind of regret not saying anything at all given the likelihood of being in that situation again but like to think that he'd probably prefer it this way lol

TwiterlessTahd

189 points

2 days ago

I just got done watching the All Gas No Brakes video and it gives a good representation as to what these Flat Earthers are like.

GringoEscobar

149 points

2 days ago

The weirdest part about this to me is how many flat earthers are also very antisemitic. Why does every conspiracy theory have to involve Jewish people??

Scaulbielausis_Jim

77 points

2 days ago

I think it's just inertia. People who see conspiracies everywhere are looking for someone to put at the center of the conspiracies -- and there are people for centuries saying it's teh Jews so they just take on that belief.

tiny_couch

59 points

2 days ago

Check out the Netflix doc "Behind the Curve"! It gives a lot of insight into how people fall into these beliefs and is sympathetic to those caught in them without capitulating to those ridiculous beliefs. It's a fascinating human interest story. Andrew gave a really interesting look into this culture, but in such a short video, he didn't show the full story.

JiANTSQUiD

14 points

2 days ago

I honestly think this is one of the most important documentaries of our time. Sure it’s focus is on flat earth, but if you look beyond that specific focus you get a very interesting look into the mind of any conspiracy theorist and the mental gymnastics they will go through to maintain their position even in the face of ironclad evidence to the contrary. I really hope Netflix will produce more like it.

Asdfaeou

624 points

2 days ago

Asdfaeou

624 points

2 days ago

  1. If you watched this, enjoyed it and haven't already, go, right now, and look up "WILTY" on YouTube. Every Episode is on there, you probably won't be disappointed.
  2. That is a group of guests lumped together I never would have expected.

batman_in_space_

451 points

2 days ago

The best part of Would I Lie To You is Lee Mac having to bullshit his way through the most ridiculous lies. It's like the producers are just fucking with him at this point.

Lambeaux

501 points

2 days ago

Lambeaux

501 points

2 days ago

And then Bob Mortimer who just has to tell the truth and no one believes it.

zelnoth

312 points

2 days ago

zelnoth

312 points

2 days ago

Sniper's dream they called him.

wax4dayzz

150 points

2 days ago

wax4dayzz

150 points

2 days ago

Gary Cheeseman

VScWayne

129 points

2 days ago

VScWayne

129 points

2 days ago

Steve Bytheway

Manggo

64 points

2 days ago

Manggo

64 points

2 days ago

Caramel and Waffle!

cheese_without_toast

29 points

2 days ago

Barbara Lightbouse

VScWayne

29 points

2 days ago

VScWayne

29 points

2 days ago

Jerry Dungarees' son

popplesan

23 points

2 days ago

popplesan

23 points

2 days ago

Mickey the Drink

BoxerguyT89

14 points

2 days ago

Didn't take his father's last name?

kimbonorris

47 points

2 days ago

Snipers dream makes me laugh everytime I hear it

SporadicSheep

33 points

2 days ago

oooh, they've not used Fuji

DIRTY_KUMQUAT_NIPPLE

166 points

2 days ago

I love watching the progression of Bob Mortimer slowly driving David Mitchell insane, up until the point where David was actually convinced that Chris Rea ran Bob a bath and cracked an egg into it.

docfate

104 points

2 days ago*

docfate

104 points

2 days ago*

"It's a ... lie."

"OF COURSE IT IS!"

Dear god, I could watch that scene over and over and still end up in tears.

Edit: here's the clip

jackrayd

10 points

2 days ago

jackrayd

10 points

2 days ago

Hahaha in that northern accent: 'ive cracked an egg into it'

SkyLotus85

8 points

2 days ago

Thank you for the clip - how I missed this one I have no idea!!

thememorableusername

78 points

2 days ago*

"OF COURSE! OF COURSE IT'S A LIE! HE SAID CHRIS REA PUT AN EGG IN HIS BATH! WHO COULD POSSIBLY BELIEVE THAT??"

MelodicPendulum

41 points

2 days ago

Henning Wehn has some crazy stories too but nobody beats Bob Mortimer.

TheBlindCat

28 points

2 days ago

“It was in the early 90’s.....”

Obamasmanpurse

31 points

2 days ago

We do beg your pardon, but we are in your garden

a_frayn

79 points

2 days ago

a_frayn

79 points

2 days ago

The man does his own dentistry!

cherenkov_blue

67 points

2 days ago

Fuji 9.

TheHuntMan676

65 points

2 days ago

"We do beg your pardon. We are in your garden."

IwanJBerry

27 points

2 days ago

Once you have Fuji 9, you are a dentist.

thedinnerdate

23 points

2 days ago

Well, to be fair, it also helps to have a leather makers drill and a curved indian instrument.

derrhn

10 points

2 days ago

derrhn

10 points

2 days ago

Strongly recommend Bob Mortimer’s football podcast, Athletico Mince, too. It makes me howl with laughter regularly.

mdaniel018

81 points

2 days ago

Lee has so much fun spinning what is obviously complete bullshit that he usually man angels to draw in at least one person from the other team.

Mitchell and Mac are really quite an odd pairing, Mitchell is such an intellectual, while Lee is an old school comic who is insanely quick on his feet, but it just works

DIRTY_KUMQUAT_NIPPLE

73 points

2 days ago

My favorite WILTY Lee Mack bit is where he has a set of keys and he has to go through each one and say where they go to. I've watched it multiple times and still crack up at it

treebeard189

43 points

2 days ago

I love the one where he tries to spin having written a Chinese cook book and makes up a British chef named like Steve adopted by chinese parents and doesn't speak English because he was raised in china.

The Bermuda girlfriend naming system is also a good one

DIRTY_KUMQUAT_NIPPLE

13 points

2 days ago

I just watched that first one you mentioned yesterday and it's so hilarious to me. I think he specifically said that a guy named Steve Jenkins got adopted at birth by a chinese couple but they didn't bother to change his name so there's just a guy named Steve Jenkins who only speaks chinese.

Manggo

27 points

2 days ago

Manggo

27 points

2 days ago

The PBU part is so unbelievably quick, it's crazy. He's so fast on his feet.

KrazeeJ

7 points

2 days ago

KrazeeJ

7 points

2 days ago

Mine is the one where he’s supposed to be claiming the guest is a child that he accidentally picked up from daycare because he thought they were his own son. James Acaster’s story is so hilarious and distracting that by the time it gets to Lee he accidentally starts bullshitting the other person’s lie and gets like 30 seconds in before anyone can cut him off and he just has to sit there trying to cover for it when everyone knows it’s 100% obvious it’s a lie.

Lucifeces

8 points

2 days ago

I always lose it on the one where all the girls he’s dated spell BERMUDA. He’s just making it up and Mitchell is grilling him but he keeps answering correctly. Incredible.

https://youtu.be/sypQXXN57T8

CarpeKitty

58 points

2 days ago

Holy shit the question with his Chinese cookbook was amazing all around

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bFf7qdZfHvw

darlov

25 points

2 days ago

darlov

25 points

2 days ago

1d2a5v9u9s

29 points

2 days ago

"I can tell if a person is left or right handed just by looking at their ears."

BatXDude

17 points

2 days ago*

BatXDude

17 points

2 days ago*

Wok around the clock made me tear up

"Was he the only steve jenkins in his school?"

canadiancarlin

15 points

2 days ago

"Chinese fella named Bryan Smith"

thenoblitt

6 points

2 days ago

Almost every episode he gets some crazy lie at the end to cap it off

Cruinthe

30 points

2 days ago

Cruinthe

30 points

2 days ago

One of my favorites https://youtu.be/2vOUoqJJAPo

TwiceDiA

98 points

2 days ago

TwiceDiA

98 points

2 days ago

Would I Lie To You, 8 Out of 10 Cats Does Countdown, QI, and Taskmaster are all shows I would recommend! Oh and also Big Fat Quiz of the year/everything is good too.

JK33Y

20 points

2 days ago

JK33Y

20 points

2 days ago

I'd like to second this as well as say do not buy BritBox if you like these shows and are in the US. I got it so I could watch these panel shows and was disappointed to find most of the content is region locked to the UK. Most of the episodes are on YouTube anyway for free.

besuited

52 points

2 days ago

besuited

52 points

2 days ago

Taskmaster is a delight. I'd love to see Mitchell reluctantly stumble through it.

DaveShadow

39 points

2 days ago

Lee Mack is on the upcoming season I think, and I genuinely am so hyped for that. I wish they could have gotten Mitchell on at the same time.

canadiancarlin

10 points

2 days ago

It would be impossible. They'd argue about the semantics of the task until Greg Davies loses it and breaks a chair.

Nymaz

7 points

2 days ago

Nymaz

7 points

2 days ago

I dunno. I think every task he'd think of some clever way around it and sit there smugly while he does, which would be kind of boring.

Watch Season 7 where Rhod Gilbert thinks of some clever way around each task AND fucks with Alex all throughout it. Beautiful.

ScarletCaptain

12 points

2 days ago

Graham Norton is great at assembling groups you never would expect together.

CodPolish

11 points

2 days ago

CodPolish

11 points

2 days ago

Graham Norton seems to excel at the odd combination

skidshinny

8 points

2 days ago

For the past few years my wife and I have been watching WILTY along with Taskmaster and whenever a new Big Fat Quiz comes out. I love these shows

DrVagax

153 points

2 days ago

DrVagax

153 points

2 days ago

*Professional ranter

Fucking love David Mitchell, he is completely in his element in Would I Lie To You when he finds a hole in a story

seanalltogether

45 points

2 days ago

Unless its a Bob Mortimer story, then he completely loses all sense of bearing. I hope they never put him on Davids team.

Zedandbreakfast

19 points

2 days ago

Bob Mortimer is his Kryptonite.

hull534

23 points

2 days ago

hull534

23 points

2 days ago

The sausage roll one has me in tears every time.

Linksdilemma23

64 points

2 days ago

Flat earth is almost as crazy as four Naan

Yatakak

31 points

2 days ago

Yatakak

31 points

2 days ago

Four Naan Jeremy! That's insane!

pascualama

310 points

2 days ago

pascualama

310 points

2 days ago

That jamie oliver looking guy is sitting there suspiciously avoiding getting asked if he thinks the earth is flat.

default_username1

255 points

2 days ago

I'm not 100% but I think that Jamie Oliver looking guy....possibly.....is.....Jamie Oliver?

sputters_

166 points

2 days ago

sputters_

166 points

2 days ago

To be fair, of all the Jamie Oliver-looking guys there are, Jamie Oliver is pretty near the top of the list in terms of definitely looking like Jamie Oliver.

Mralfredmullaney

258 points

2 days ago

Last 15 seconds are down to earth and so true. When did we start treating unsubstantiated opinions as facts?

Absenteeist

78 points

2 days ago

Yes. It’s also true what he said that civilization is impossible without factuality. You can’t develop technology if the laws of science are whatever somebody posts on Facebook. You can’t have the rule of law if nobody bothers to read what the law says or apply it as written. You can’t muster a war of self-defence if you can’t agree you’re being invaded. You can’t have a democracy if a large enough percentage of the population won’t accept the rules of the vote, or the result if they disagree with who was elected. You can’t drive from Point A to Point B if everybody decides what the colours of the traffic lights mean for themselves.

There’s healthy skepticism, and then there’s people believing in absolute baloney not because they have truly applied rational analysis to the question and are “open minded”, but because believing something makes them feel good—e.g. that they know The Truth that others don’t, that they’re part of a special community, that they’re one of the Good Guys of History—and people are emotional thinkers. The Netflix documentary Behind the Curve presented numerous examples of flat-earthers disproving their own theories, ignoring or poorly rationalizing the results, and then indulging in their desire for validation and community through big conventions of other believers. That may be the whole issue in a nutshell.

SnoopDragon10

12 points

2 days ago

My old college mate was a flat-earth believer . He wanted to study the science of it for a presentation and he went down the rabbit hole.

FrankyPi

8 points

2 days ago

FrankyPi

8 points

2 days ago

How did he stop believing in that nonsense?

rurumonster

13 points

2 days ago

I miss Mitchell and Webb look so bad

Ntjs95

131 points

2 days ago

Ntjs95

131 points

2 days ago

At first I thought, ohh that lady looks a lot like Hilary Clinton......... Then I thought ohhhh that actually is Hilary Clinton

Wizz_n_Jizz

9 points

2 days ago

Science does not care what you believe!

Its_Number_Wang

7 points

1 day ago

David Mitchell and Ricky Gervais are by far my two favorite British comedians/satirists. The conclusion here was spot on: an opinion doesn’t have the weight of a scientifically established fact, which is a dangerous trend I’m seeing across the political fringes.